Books by Joe Abercrombie

Joe Abercrombie is the author of six novels for adult readers: the three books of The First Law and three stand-alone novels set in the same world.

The first two parts of his latest series – the young adult fantasy saga The Shattered Sea – are Out Now, published by Random House (US) and Voyager (UK). Book three, Half a War, will be published later in 2015.

Click the book covers or links below for more information on each book.

You can download extracts from all of Joe’s books via the sample chapters page.

The Shattered Sea

Half a King, UK PaperbackHalf a King, US paperback edition

Half the World, UK HardcoverHalf the World, US Hardcover

  1. Half a King (July 2014)
  2. Half the World (Feb 2015)
  3. Half a War (Autumn/Fall 2015)

The First Law

The Blade Itself, UK PaperbackBefore They Are Hanged, UK PaperbackLast Argument of Kings, UK Paperback

  1. The Blade Itself (2006)
  2. Before They Are Hanged (2007)
  3. Last Argument of Kings (2008)

Set in the World of The First Law

Best Served Cold, UK PaperbackThe Heroes, UK PaperbackRed Country, UK Paperback

  1. Best Served Cold (2009)
  2. The Heroes (2011)
  3. Red Country (2012)

Omnibus Editions and Graphic Adaptations

The First Law Trilogy, UK PaperbackThe Collected Joe Abercrombie, UK EbookThe First Law - Chapter One

Short Fiction

Joe’s short stories have been published in the following anthologies:

Legends, ed. Ian WhatesSwords and Dark Magic, ed. Jonathan Strahan and Lou AndersDangerous Women, ed. George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois


  • ‘The Fool Jobs’ appears in Swords and Dark Magic, edited by Lou Anders and Jonathan Strahan (HarperCollins US, 2010)
  • ‘Skipping Town’ appears in Legends: Stories in Memory of David Gemmell, edited by Ian Whates (NewCon Press UK, 2013)
  • ‘Some Desperado’ appears in Dangerous Women, edited by George R. R. Martin and Gardner Dozois (Tor US, 2013)
  • ‘Tough Times All Over’ appears in Rogues, edited by George R. R. Martin and Gardner Dozois (Bantam US, 2014)